Monthly Mystery Munchies #32: Wild Mushroom Risotto

I really feel like I’m one with the earth, getting in touch with my roots by using wild mushrooms in this risotto. That’s this month’s Monthly Mystery Munchies theme, and I chose wild mushrooms because I lurve them. These are different from the ones I ate when I was a teenager. Kidding? Before this recipe, I had made one risotto a few years ago and it was gross. I was deeply disappointed, but one night at a friend’s house, she served risotto and it was perfection. I asked her how she got it right, and she said she always oven-bakes it instead of boiling. I can be slightly lazy, so this appealed to me because (a) it was bomb, and (b) it was schelp-free. Winner.

I tried this recipe twice, and it works. It just works. I use shiitake and oyster mushrooms because they have a cool earthy flavour. Parmesan brings the extra, and remember to save some of the white wine for cooking. And there is butter. Need I say it again? It gives me life. Reserve the liquid you use for soaking the mushrooms. It has lots of flavour, and it’s such a waste to toss it. In this recipe, I use 600ml liquid – please note that this is the combined total. It includes the mushroom-soaking liquid, wine and stock.

Please hop over to Ann’s recipe on Grubbs n Critters. She is so creative with her meals, and I learn a great deal from her every single month. What I lack in imagination, she has in spades, but life is about balance, right? Unless you’re me trying to perfect Warrior 3 on a bad day. Or a good day, because I inevitably fall over. “Look at meeee! I’m so strong!” Faceplant. Yoga aside, Ann does bring balance, inspiration, motivation and super cool ideas to my life.

Wild Mushroom Risotto

  • Print

Supplies:

1 cup risotto rice
2 leeks, sliced
60g butter
*75ml dry white wine
*525ml combined chicken stock and liquid from soaked mushrooms
50g shiitake and oyster mushrooms
1 teaspoon fresh or dried thyme
50g grated parmesan + 20g
Salt and freshly cracked black pepper
Parsley for garnishing

* You want a total of 600ml of liquid, consisting of dry white wine, chicken stock and the liquid from soaking the mushrooms.

Making it Happen:

Preheat your oven to 180C (350F).
Heat butter in a pan on medium heat. Fry the leeks for 2 minutes. Add the mushrooms, thyme, salt and pepper. Fry for another 5 minutes. Add the rice and fry for another 2 minutes, stirring frequently.
Pour in the combined stock and wine, and bring to a simmer.
Heat your baking dish in the oven while all the frying is happening.
Transfer the risotto mixture to the heated dish, and bake uncovered for 20 minutes.
Add 50g parmesan, and stir once. Return to the oven.
Bake for another 10-15 minutes until cooked, then add the rest of the parmesan, garnish with parsley and serve immediately.

Follow me on Instagram here

Follow Ann on Instagram here

3 thoughts on “Monthly Mystery Munchies #32: Wild Mushroom Risotto

  1. Baked!!!! That’s a bloody brilliant way of cooking up a risotto. Why didn’t I think of that! Excellent!

    You see…I’m generally not a big fan of mushrooms – ateast the proper kind šŸ˜œ but your shrooms risotto looks so good I might give shrooms another chance! And butter?! I feel you sista!!! šŸ˜†šŸ˜†šŸ˜† Another great recipe to end the week! That’s why I love you so much! šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ¤—

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Mystery Munchies #32:Artichoke and Goat Cheese Risotto

  3. Pingback: Friday Flavours: Wild Mushroom Risotto @Monthly Mystery Munchies #32 with Gen

Leave a comment