Words Crush Wednesday – John Steinbeck Edition

I’m a perfectionist. It irritates the crap out of me. My pantry cupboard bears witness to this: all of the canned food is in order, labels facing forward. The rice dare not be put on the beans shelf. The baking ingredients have their own shelf, don’t mix them with the grains. I mean obviously. My husband thinks it’s hilarious (can’t say I blame him) and he frequently turns the labels around, just to irritate me. It works. The truth is that perfection is a myth, it’s unrealistic and the pursuit of it takes away the pleasure of the moment. I’m learning to let it go, because if you’re constantly chasing something that doesn’t exist, you’ll never appreciate what you have. Having said that, my pantry cupboard is still immaculate.

John Steinbeck 1

Please check out the lovely, talented Rebirth of Lisa for more quotes.

One thought on “Words Crush Wednesday – John Steinbeck Edition

Leave a Reply

