Monthly Mystery Munchies #13: Steak with Caramelised Cranberry and Pomegranate Sauce

italy-1264104_1920For this month’s Monthly Mystery Munchies, Ann and I went for a main course using fruit. I had so much fun playing around with different meat and fruit. What inspired this theme was that I found figs at my local supermarket. Fabulous, thought me, let’s try something with this. So I did, and I decided to adjust it, so I bought more figs, and yay, we have a winner. Round three: this time I needed to take pics. No frikken figs. Like, anywhere. Whyyyy? I swiftly changed tactics after finding pomegranate pips, which, by the way, I stockpiled to avoid a repeat. I haven’t done steak for a while, and I fancied the idea of making a caramelised sauce with a piece of red meat. I mean, a sticky and sweet reduction on Porterhouse steak? Yes, people, YES! Ann always impresses me with her ideas, so please check out Grubbs n Critters for her take on this month’s theme: baked chicken cutlets in orange-plum sauce. She always brings it, and this month is no different, even though she’s in the process of emigrating! The fact that Ann still had time to do this really amazes me. I love her dedication and commitment!

Steak with Caramelised Cranberry and Pomegranate Sauce

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Supplies:

200ml cranberry juice
125g pomegranate pips
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon paprika
4 Porterhouse steaks
Non-stick spray
Sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper
Fresh rosemary for garnishing (optional)

Making It Happen:

Pomegranate steak 1 21. Mix the first three ingredients together, reserving half of the pomegranate pips. Marinade for an hour.

 

 

 

Pomegranate steak 3 22. Spray a griddle pan with non-stick spray. Pour the marinade in, bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes until it starts reducing. Season the steaks with salt and pepper, sprinkle the rest of the pips on them, and fry on medium-high heat until cooked to your preference. (For a 2cm steak: 2-3 minutes per side for rare, 4 minutes per side for medium, and 5-6 minutes per side for well done.)

 

italy-1264104_19203. Serve the steak hot, and garnish with rosemary (optional).

 

8 thoughts on “Monthly Mystery Munchies #13: Steak with Caramelised Cranberry and Pomegranate Sauce

  1. Wow wow wow! I’m impressed! Did you say basic? LOL. Pomegranate would never have crossed my mind and then you fuse it with cranberries. This is absolute perfection. Look at your steak oozing out juice….hmmmm….I’m bloody drooling!!! Really super impressed with this one, Gen. You are so creative! Superb! Nothing basic of this one definitely.

    Well done, my friend! You have got this hands down! 😀 *muuuaccckkks*

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Mystery Munchies #15: Figs, Rosemary and Lime-Drizzled Scones with Lime Curd

Leave a Reply

