Words Crush Wednesday – Rudyard Kipling Edition

I was born in a tiny diamond mining town in the middle of the Karoo desert. Our activities consisted of climbing trees, playing outside in the red sand and reading. I was raised in a family of avid readers who taught my sister and I to have an insatiable appetite for books. My grandparents were never without a book in their hands, or on their nightstands. My mom encouraged us to read, read, read, and it’s something I am eternally grateful for. I have to add that we did watch TV, I mean we’re not Amish, but every week, like clockwork, we were taken off to the tiny town library to select a new book. I think by the time we left Kimberley for the bright lights of Cape Town, we had read every single book they had!

I look around me and see kids being raised on the Disney channel. Instead of being given books, they’re given iPads. It’s seldom I see a kid with a book, and it breaks my heart. Reading opens up a whole new world and encourages one to use one’s imagination. Also, it teaches correct spelling, an al we hv 2 do is luk at kidz txts 2 c how dey spel deez dayz. Don’t even get me started on that, that’s a whole other blog post! And it’s not just kids who do it! Adults do it too! Really? Are you that lazy that you can’t type out a coherent text/email/whateva?

Reading was, and always will be, a vital part of my life. These days its positive effects are greatly underestimated and the art of reading is deeply undervalued. What a sad state of affairs. The books my mom read to us every night consisted of the normal authors for that era – Enid Blyton, Beatrix Potter and the likes, but my favourite childhood book is Rudyard Kipling’s ‘The Jungle Book’. This week’s Words Crush Wednesday is one of the most beautiful and accurate quotes, pertinent to today’s times, by Kipling himself.

Rudyard Kipling

3 thoughts on “Words Crush Wednesday – Rudyard Kipling Edition

  1. Pingback: Words Crush Wednesday #wcw – Coelho | Rebirth of Lisa

Leave a Reply

