Glazed Gammon with Honey, Mustard and Apricot Jam

Something’s wrong with this picture. I get home from the supermarket, unpack the groceries and stare. I’m definitely missing something. Oh swear word. I forgot the ingredients for the glazing. Swear word, swear word, swear word. You see, I promised The Husband and The Best Friend glazed gammon. They take their food very seriously. Woe betide me should I fail to deliver. People, this is what happens when you draw up a shopping list with the TV on in the background. You get sidetracked by shows like ‘Embarrassing Bodies’ and can’t tear yourself away from the dude with the gnarliest looking man-problems you’ve ever seen. Dr Christian has his work cut out for him. Shudder.

I check the cupboards and fridge and find some apricot jam and honey. Right. It’ll have to do. Unbeknownst to me at the time, it turned out to be the yummiest glazed gammon in the history of my kitchen (which I tore down a few months later). I added some mustard just because. I mean, I’ve already deviated from the original recipe so why not just go all out, right? I like to live on the wild side and also, mustard is to honey as the Kardashians are to rappers. Make of that what you will.

This is much easier than missioning with pineapples and cherries. Those toothpicks get me every freaking time. I’m not sure I can definitively say what my favourite roast is, between beef, chicken and gammon, but this recipe is definitely my favourite gammon and has subsequently been made several times.

Gammon 1 (2)2kg (approx 4.5lbs) boneless gammon
2 onions, halved
2-3 celery stalks, cut into thirds
2 carrots, cut into thirds (I never peel them, too much PT)
5 bay leaves
10 whole black peppercorns

Glazing:
4 tablespoons apricot jam
2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons hot English mustard

Gammon 2 (2)Put the gammon in a large pot, fill it with cold water and cover. On high heat, bring it to a boil then drain the water. Place the rest of the ingredients in the pot, refill with fresh cold water, bring it to a boil and then turn down the heat and simmer with the lid on for 20 minutes per 500g/1lb. If your gammon is sticking out of the water slightly, turn halfway through.

 

 

If your gammon piece isn't fully covered by water, turn it halfway through.

If your gammon piece isn’t fully covered by water, turn it halfway through.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gammon 4 (2)Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F). Once the gammon has finished simmering, remove from heat, drain and let cool for 20 minutes. Take off the ties before it cools too much. After 20 minutes, remove the rind and score the remaining fat in an ‘X’ shape. Mix the apricot jam, honey and mustard and heat for 30 seconds in the microwave. Stir thoroughly and baste onto the gammon ensuring the entire piece is covered. Place in a roasting pan and roast for 20 – 25 minutes, basting it with pan drippings every 10 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before carving it.

7 thoughts on “Glazed Gammon with Honey, Mustard and Apricot Jam

  1. YUM!!! I’m so jealous of Hubby and your BFF!

    Btw, this had me cracking up:
    “You get sidetracked by shows like ‘Embarrassing Bodies’ and can’t tear yourself away from the dude with the gnarliest looking man-problems you’ve ever seen. Dr Christian has his work cut out for him. Shudder.”
    LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

