Meatballs

During the week, we try to eat healthily. Our usual menu consists of something like chicken breasts with steamed spinach and broccoli or fish with roasted zucchinis and mushrooms. However, I often get bored of cooking (and eating) the same thing but in the quest for fewer carby, fatty meals, I regularly find myself at a bit of a loss for what to cook.

I love mince, but I associate it with spaghetti bolognaise (yum) and lasagna (yummier) but for the past few months I’ve been making meatballs and serving them with veggies like roasted butternut and green (bell) peppers (I’ve also served them with mashed potatoes which is very yespleaseandthanks) . These meatballs are really tasty and I look forward to cooking (and eating) them every week! They’re easy to make, like super easy – put everything into a food processor and mix, and only takes 15 – 20 minutes in the oven. I don’t fry them, I put them directly into a baking dish and cook them for 15 minutes. It’s that easy! If you don’t have a food processor, you can still make this pretty quickly, see instructions by hand.

Makes 12  Prep time: 5 minutes   Cooking time: 15 –  20 minutes

Meatballs ing (2)500g lean beef mince
1 onion
1 sachet/50g tomato paste
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon Worcester sauce
1 egg
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon parsley
Salt & pepper for seasoning
Non-stick spray

Method if using a processor:

Cut the onion in half and blitz it for a few seconds in the food processor until finely chopped. Add the mince, blitz for a few more seconds until combined. Add the remaining ingredients and blitz until well combined. Depending on the size of your food processor, you may need to do this in two batches. Put one large tablespoon’s worth of mince mixture into your hand and roll to form a ball.

Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F) and bake for 15 – 20 minutes, depending on your oven and how you like your balls.

Meatballs 1 (2)

Method by hand:
Halve and slice the onion thinly. In a large bowl, add the mince and mix well. Add the remaining ingredients, mixing thoroughly until well combined. I’ve done it this way a few times (it was a very dark time in my life when my food processor broke and I had to wait a month to replace it) and I found it much easier to mix the ingredients with my hands instead of using a spatula. Sorry if that grosses you out; they were clean, promise!

Meatballs 3 (4)

One thought on “Meatballs

  1. Ahh!! Meatballs!!! You seem to have read my mind. 😄I tried out a new recipe just last week too. Using hands to mix is the best, although I’m usually more bothered by the smell left on my hands than being gross out.. so disposable plastis gloves are my best friend. 😊 Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

