Daily Prompt – Inside the Actors’ Studio

Today’s Blogging 101 assignment is to pick a daily prompt and answer it. I’ve read through so many of them, there are so many that I’d like to give great thought to but I’ve chosen Inside the Actors’ Studio so I can share a few random facts about myself. Also, we’ve just started kitchen renovations and time is precious right now.

1) What is your favourite word? 

“Scotch” and “balls”. I don’t drink scotch and the only balls that are my own are meatballs. I do enjoy a good meatball.

2) What is your least favourite word?

“Irregardless”. Now, technically speaking it’s not a word but it is still my least favourite combination of letters written or uttered and passed off as something vaguely English. It’s a combination of “irrespective” and “regardless”. In this case, two rights undoubtedly make a wrong yet there are many who insist on using it. People please, “irregardless” is not a word, no matter how many times you say it. The prefix and suffix create a double negative thus cancelling each other out. There you go. It’s not a word. It makes no sense. Stop using it.

3) What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

Books. They transport me into another world where nothing else exists. It’s just me and the characters and real life is put on hold temporarily. Cookbooks and shows inspire me to be more creative in the kitchen.

4) What turns you off?

Perpetual negativity and pessimism. Look, we all have crappy days from time-to-time. Some of us more than others. Sometimes we have days where everything goes wrong. I appreciate this and no one is immune. I am not suggesting that everyone be happy and cheerful all day, every day, but I truly believe that one’s mindset and outlook heavily affects one’s ability to cope with any given obstacle and challenge. Don’t be mistaken, I’m not talking about people who have the occasional and unavoidable bad day or week, sometimes even month. I’m specifically referring to people who seem endlessly negative and pessimistic regarding every single issue bar none. We all know one. I never thought I would quote a Rihanna tattoo (and yet it’s happening) but I do believe she has a point – “never a failure, always a lesson”. Sometimes one has to find it. Sometimes it’s not immediately clear at all and one has to look really hard but it’s always there, whether it’s great or small, obvious or obscure, it’s there.

5) What is your favourite curse word?

The fact that I’m sitting here thinking “hmmm… which one do I choose?” is moderately alarming. I swear too much. I know this. Then I think “by whose standards is too much?”. I don’t swear at strangers (unless they cut me off when I’m trying to park and even then I use my inner voice); I would never swear in front of my in-laws as I know it would offend and disappoint them and I absolutely do not swear in front of my little nieces. I would say my favourite swear word is “shit”. It covers a wide range of expressions. “I’m having a shit (bad) day”, “Oh shit (no)!”, “those meatballs are the shit (amazing), “shiiiiiiiit (ooooops)”. I like its diversity. This is a peculiar paragraph.

6) What sound or noise do you love?

Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice.

7) What sound or noise do you hate?

Lately, my neighbour across the road has been playing his music ridiculously loudly. The shame is that for the most part I really enjoy his taste. I don’t mind his parties. By all means, go right ahead. Except at 2:35am when your shitty bass is thumping so hard that I can actually still hear its “doof doof doof” though my bedroom is at the very back of my house, all doors and windows are closed and I’m wearing earplugs. I shit you not. That’s how loud it is. It’s become my least favourite noise. I actually fancy lawnmowers, dogs barking incessantly and sonic booms over this.

8) What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Anything to do with helping people. And feeding people.

9) What profession would you not like to do?

They Came In Like a Wrecking Ball

They Came In Like a Wrecking Ball

We are currently redoing our kitchen. We are gutting it entirely, wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling. These construction guys are doing back-breaking work. I would not like to be them. Respect.

 

 

 

 

10) If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Mom and I

Mom and I

That’s really easy. “Your mother is waiting for you.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

